Feminist Studies Student Honorees 2016-2017

The department would like to congratulate our Feminist Studies students including our majors, minors, and LGBTQ minors as well our graduate students who have been awarded with various campus honors this school year. Attached is a full list and description of each award, which you can see here, it is also posted below.




Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award: This award recognized the legacy of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Emeritus, Michael D. Young, particularly his commitment to empowering students toward principled leadership. It is awarded to students who have skillfully integrated their scholarly knowledge and/or values into action.

  • Saxon Cropper-Sykes


University Service Award: given in recognition of unselfish and dedicated service to the University, its students, and the community.

  • Bridget Kyeremateng
  • Marina S. Quintanilla


Vice Chancellor’s Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship: This award is presented annually to one or more graduating seniors and graduate students who embrace the principles of scholarship, leadership, and citizenship —through activities that enhance UCSB’s academic environment, contributions to a consequential project, or extraordinary service to the campus community.

  • Ernesto H. Piña


University Award of Distinction: given to seniors and graduate students who have contributed greatly to the quality of life by giving unselfish service to others within a particular area.

  • Sara A. Cratsenburg


Luis Leal Social Sciences Undergraduate Award: Awarded for outstanding academic achievement to a student with a major in the social sciences in honor of Don Luis Leal, a visiting professor whose presence and scholarship have greatly enriched the Santa Barbara campus (1976-2010).

  • Marina S. Quintanilla


Phi Beta Kappa Honor: Phi Beta Kappa is an honorary society that recognizes and encourages a commitment to excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Membership is by invitation only.

  • Marina S. Quintanilla


Commencement Speaker

  • Bridget Kyeremateng


GSA Excellence in Teaching Award: The Graduate Student Association (GSA) Excellence in Teaching Award (ETA) recognizes graduate students who have shown excellence and gone above and beyond as teachers at UC Santa Barbara.

  • Chelsea Jones